ÆTHER - A sphere tired to round out the angles…

Table lamp

Oak and Fontainebleau sandstone.

Unique piece.

 

Dimensions: H 9,84 x W 9,84 x D 9,84 in.

Other finishes and dimensions on request.

January 2018

|| From physics to metaphysics, the shape of the dodecahedron is inscribed in history as a major and mysterious archetype.

 

In the Timée dialogue (circa 358 BC), Platon thinks of a geometrization of the world, he associates each of the four elements (Earth, Air, Water and Fire) to a regular solid.

 

|| In this "primal" gesture of design, Platon associates the dodecahedron with the 5th solid, the 5th element representing "the god used to arrange the constellations all over the sky". This quintessence, literally, will be renamed "aithêr" ("aether" in Latin, "ether" in French) by Aristotle to define this element of which the universe is made and which is consubstantial with all the others (this notion of ether will last until the 19th century).

{In the 2nd and 3rd centuries, it is found in Europe in the form of religious objects, "magic", worship, divination.}

 

|| More contemporary, a mysterious reminiscence of Platonic geometry emerges in the heart of the work of the astrophysicist Jean-Pierre Luminet (a world-renowned specialist for his work on cosmology). Based on the analysis of certain anomalies in the observations of the cosmic microwave background, he proposes in 2003 an interpretation of these anomalies as being a signature indicating that the universe would have the topology of a Poincaré dodecahedral space.

Would the universe be ontologically a dodecahedron?

To conclude, the dodecahedron is also present in the natural state in the form of pyrite crystals. }

 

 

 

|| Æther is a first step that proposes to integrate this "quintessential" form into a "domestic cosmos", by giving it a symbolic function of lighting.

It is a journey along the frontier between archetype, geometric abstraction and ontological reality, frontier possibly permeable if we believe the work of Jean-Pierre Luminet.

This gesture is part of a more global approach which want to integrate major and mysterious archetypes into a personal space, in order to question fertility and interactions. ||

 

|| Æther is rewritten here, in a sandstone and oak version that highlights the sandstone of Fontainebleau. The most abrasive stone in the world, it is unused in the decorative and artistic sphere. {Francisco de Oliveira, who manages the last quarry still in activity producing sandstone pavers of Fontainebleau says that it is the only stone that can scratch the diamond}.

In some places, the sandstone has organic, inlaid vegetal networks that have absorbed over time thanks to its natural porosity.

 

A first technical challenge was raised to obtain thin faces (4-6mm) without breaking the stone. A second original technique was developed to polish this sandstone, considered "impossible" by many stonemason and marble workers. ||

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png

ÆTHER - Une sphère qui en a marre d’arrondir les angles…

Lampe de table

Chêne et grès de Fontainebleau.

Pièce unique.

Dimensions : H 25 x L 25 x P 25 cm

Autres finitions et dimensions sur demande.

Janvier 2018

|| De la physique à la métaphysique, la forme du dodécaèdre est inscrite dans l’histoire comme un archétype majeur et mystérieux.

Dans le dialogue Timée (env. 358 av. J.-C.), Platon pense une géométrisation du monde, il associe chacun des quatre éléments (la Terre, l'Air, l'Eauet le Feu) à un solide régulier.

|| Dans ce geste « primal » de design, Platon associe le dodécaèdre au 5ème solide, 5ème élément représentant « le dieu utilisé pour arranger les constellations sur tout le ciel ». Cette QUINTESSENCE, au sens propre, sera rebaptisée "aithêr" ("aether" en latin, « éther » en français) par Aristote pour définir cet élément dont est fait l'univers, et qui est consubstantiel à tous les autres (cette notion d’éther  perdurera jusqu’au 19ème siècle).

{Aux 2ème et 3ème siècles, on le retrouve en Europe sous forme d’objets religieux, « magiques », de culte, de divination.}

|| Plus contemporaine, une réminiscence mystérieuse de la géométrie platonicienne émerge au coeur des travaux de l’astrophysicien Jean-Pierre Luminet (spécialiste de réputation mondiale pour ses travaux sur la cosmologie). En se basant sur l’analyse de certaines anomalies dans les observations du fond diffus cosmologique, il propose en 2003 une interprétation de ces anomalies comme étant une signature indiquant que l'univers aurait la topologie d'un espace dodécaédrique de Poincaré.

L’univers serait-il ontologiquement un dodécaèdre ?

Précisons pour conclure que le dodécaèdre est aussi présent à l’état naturel sous la forme de cristaux de pyrite.

|| Æther est un premier geste qui propose d’intégrer cette forme « quintessentielle » au sein d’un « cosmos domestique», en lui prêtant une fonction symbolique de luminaire. 

C’est un voyage le long de la frontière entre archétype, abstraction géométrique et réalité ontologique, frontière possiblement perméable si l’on en croit les travaux de Jean-Pierre Luminet.

Ce geste s’inscrit dans une démarche plus globale visant à intégrer au sein d’un espace personnel des archétypes majeurs et mystérieux, afin d’en questionner la fertilité et les interactions. ||

 

|| Æther est réécrit ici, dans une version en grès et bois qui met en lumière le grès de Fontainebleau. Pierre la plus abrasive au monde, elle est inutilisée dans la sphère décorative et artistique. {Francisco de Oliveira, qui gère la dernière carrière encore en activité produisant des pavés de grès de Fontainebleau affirme qu'elle est la seule pierre pouvant rayer le diamant}.

Le grès présente à certains endroits des réseaux organiques, végétaux incrustés qu'il a absorbés au cours du temps grâce à sa porosité naturelle.

Un premier défi technique a été relevé pour obtenir des faces minces (4-6mm) sans briser la pierre. Une seconde technique originale a été développée pour réaliser le polissage de ce grès, jugé "impossible" par de nombreux tailleurs de pierre et marbriers. ||

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png