|| Born in Thonon les Bains in 1985, Jean-François Baud studied in Paris 8 in an interdisciplinary curriculum between musicology and interactive arts. He finally leaves the doctoral school "Esthetics, Sciences and Technologies of the Arts" to answer the call of the verticality and the mineral. From the 20 000 f peaks of the Altiplano in the Andes to the monolithic faces of Yosemite in the USA, he travels the world according to the cracks, faults, holds, and a search for aesthetics in verticality.

 

 

 

 

|| In the style of the 19th century crystal makers, he extracted in 2008 his first quartz crystals from the sides of Pierre Joseph, more than 9200f, in the heart of the Mont Blanc massif. This natural perfection of intelligible forms, this translucent, paradoxical mineral crystallizes its aesthetics.

The goal of Jean-François's work is to create with contemporary writing objects that invoke nature, deep archetypes, the mysterious, the sacred.

 

|| Its process of creation and its relation to matter are intimately linked to climbing: to climb as to totally project consciousness and body into matter, which becomes a true object of worship revealed by the void.

 

|| Whether he is working with stone or bronze, Jean-François does not think creation without prehension or invention. He develops his techniques and know-how at the crossroads of craftsmanship and new technologies (Scan and 3D printing, cast iron lost wax, polishing and innovative work on Fontainebleau sandstones, resin).

|| Contact

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png

|| Né à Thonon les Bains en 1985, Jean-François Baud fait ses études à Paris 8 au sein d’un cursus interdisciplinaire entre musicologie et Arts interactifs. Il quitte finalement l’école doctorale "Esthétique, Sciences et Technologies des Arts" pour répondre à l’appel de la verticalité et du minéral. Des sommets de l'Altiplano dans les Andes à plus de 6000m aux faces monolithiques du Yosemite aux USA, il parcourt le monde au gré des fissures, failles, prises, et d'une recherche d'esthétisme dans la verticalité.

|| À la façon des cristalliers du XIXème siècle, il extrait en 2008 ses premiers cristaux de quartz des flancs de Pierre Joseph, à plus de 2800m, au coeur du massif du Mont Blanc. Cette perfection naturelle de formes intelligibles, ce minéral translucide, paradoxal, cristallise son esthétique.

Le but du travail de Jean-François est de créer avec une écriture contemporaine des objets qui invoquent la nature, les archétypes profonds, le mystérieux, le sacré.

 

|| Son processus de création et son rapport à la matière sont intimement liés à l’escalade: grimper comme projeter totalement sa conscience et son corps dans la matière, qui en devient un véritable objet de culte révélé par le vide.  

 

|| Qu'il travaille la pierre ou le bronze, Jean-François ne conçoit pas de création sans préhension ni invention et développe ses techniques et savoir-faire à la croisée de l’artisanat et des nouvelles technologies (Scan et impression 3D, fonte à la cire perdu, polissage et travail innovant des grès de Fontainebleau, résine).

|| Contact

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png