Peaulygone - A stone that has caught a cold ...

Candlestick

Polished bronze.

Numbered and signed pieces.

 

Dimensions: H 1,33 x W 10,62 x D 9,44 in.

Other finishes and dimensions on request.

December 2018

|| Tortoise scales, elephant skins, sometimes even dinosaur scales, this is how we call the polygonal networks on the sandstone of the Fontainebleau massif. We find these mineral tortoise scales throughout the world and beyond (on Mars, polygonal structures on sandstone were observed by the robot Curiosity).

 

|| The "skin" of this sandstone (the superficial layer harder than the interior of the rock) contracts as a result of thermal changes and cracks. This true crazing generates a network of pentagons and hexagons that erosion will carve, round and soften.

A stone that is cold, shrinks, melts, dissolves ...

 

|| The result is a myriad of shapes with natural ergonomics, which would have been made for gripping. A illustrated the legend which consider that the sandstone boulders of Fontainebleau are the cradle of climbing. These boulders and their "emblematic" natural climbing hold in polygonal networks are still, at the present time, "worshipped" by the climbers of the whole world.

 

 

|| Peaulygone was born from a boulder of Fontainebleau, its network of polygonal scales was scanned and reshaped in 3D, then cast in bronze. Designed as a candlestick, it is thought to emerge from a plane surface. It brings to light and in contrast this millenary crazing shapping made by this "Great Craftsman" that is the nature. It is a "photographic" gesture that freezes a state of "mineral dissolution". ||

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png

Peaulygone - Une pierre qui a pris froid

Bougeoir

Bronze poli.

Pièces numérotées et signées.

Dimensions : H 3,4 x L 27 x P 24 cm

Autres finitions et dimensions sur demande.

Décembre 2018

|| Écailles de tortue, peaux d’éléphant, parfois même écailles de dinosaure, c’est ainsi que l’on appelle les réseaux polygonaux présents sur les grès du massif de Fontainebleau. On retrouve ces écailles de tortue minérales à travers le monde et au-delà (sur Mars, des structures polygonales sur grès ont été observées par le robot Curiosity).

 

|| La « peau » de ce grès (la couche superficielle plus dure que l’intérieur de la roche) se contracte suite aux changements thermiques et se fissure. Ce véritable faïençage génère un réseau de pentagones et hexagones que l’érosion viendra sculpter, arrondir et adoucir.

Une pierre qui a froid, se contracte, fond, se dissout…

 

|| Il en résulte une myriade de formes à l'ergonomie naturelle, qui semblent avoir été faites pour la préhension. En témoigne la légende qui veut que les blocs de grès de Fontainebleau soient le berceau de l’escalade. Ces blocs et leurs prises « emblématiques » en réseaux polygonaux sont encore, à l’heure d’aujourd’hui, « vénérés » par les grimpeurs du monde entier. 

 

 

|| Peaulygone est né d'un rocher de Fontainebleau, son réseau d’écailles polygonales a été scanné et retravaillé en 3d puis tiré en bronze. Designé sous forme de bougeoir, il est pensé pour émerger d’une surface plane. Il met en lumière et en contraste ce faïençage de facture millénaire fait par ce « Grand Artisan » qu’est la nature.  C’est un geste « photographique » qui fige un état de « dissolution minérale ». ||

Pinterest2.png
Instagram.png